2015 Irving Tennis Classic Announces Official Player Field which Includes 5 Players Ranked in ATP Top 50

2015 Irving Tennis Classic Announces Official Player Field which Includes 5 Players Ranked in ATP Top 50

Draw Includes No. 34 Jeremy Chardy, No. 36 Gilles Muller, No. 40 Benjamin Becker, No. 46 Dominic Thiem and No. 50 Sergiy Stakhovsky

IRVING, TX (MARCH 16, 2015) — The Irving Tennis Classic, Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) Challenger Tour event played at the prestigious Four Seasons Resort and Club Dallas at Las Colinas, today announced the official player field, which includes 5 players ranked in the ATP Top 50 and 17 other players ranked in the top 100 on the ATP Tour.

In doubles action, the tournament No.1 seeds are Spaniard David Marrero and Mariusz Fyrstenberg from Poland who each have a top 50 doubles ranking and have only played together once in Vienna at an ATP World Tour 250 event last year, where they advanced to the Quarterfinals. Americans Rajeev Ram and Eric Butoroc are the tournaments 2nd seeds, and defending two-time doubles champion Scott Lipsky returns as the third seed with a different partner in Treat Huey from the Philippines.

The 34th ranked Frenchman Jeremy Chardy accepted the wildcard as the tournament’s No. 1 seed. The 2014 Irving Tennis Classic Champion, Lukas Rosol was expected to return as the top seed, but has advanced at the BNP Paribas Open in Indian Wells. The other wildcard recipients into the main draw are fellow Frenchman Edouard Roger-Vasselin, last years semi-finalist Ukranian Sergiy Stakhovsky, and Texas resident Michael Russell.

Former Top 10 player Marcos Baghdatis also returns to the Irving Tennis Classic as the No. 7 seed, where he will meet familiar foe Dustin Brown in the first round of the main draw. Baghdatis and Brown last met in the first round of 2014 Wimbledon, where Baghdatis advanced after a thrilling 6-4,7-5,2-6,7-6(4) match.

In addition, four qualifiers will be included in the main draw tomorrow after their final round of qualifying singles matches.

Tickets are being sold through the tournament website at IrvingTennisClassic.com.

Parking is free each day with the purchase of a tournament program.

Final Player Field (As of March 16, 2015)


(WC) Chardy, Jeremy FRA (34)

Muller, Gilles LUX (36)

Becker, Benjamin GER (40)

Thiem, Dominic AUT (46)

(WC) Stakhovsky, Sergiy UKR (50)

Janowicz, Jerzy POL (51)

Baghdatis, Marcos CYP (61)

Schwartzman, Diego ARG (63)

Andujar, Pablo ESP (66)

Struff, Jan-Lennard GER (73)

Matosevic, Marinko AUS (74)

Smyczek, Tim USA (83)

Bellucci, Thomaz BRA (85)

Darcis, Steve BEL (90)

Dzumhur, Damir BIH (91)

Kamke, Tobias GER (97)

Dustov, Farrukh UZB (99)

Brown, Dustin GER (102)

Mathieu, Paul-Henri FRA (107)

Ward, James GBR (108)

Sela, Dudi ISR (109)

Bedene, Aljaz SLO (115)

Elias, Gastao POR (127)

Kudla, Denis USA (131)

Zverev, Alexander GER (136)

Ram, Rejeev USA (142)

(WC) Roger-Vasselin, Edouard FRA (145)

(WC) Russel, Michael USA (179)

About Irving Tennis Classic

The ATP Irving Tennis Classic is an international level Challenger event governed by the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) offering $125,000 in prize money. The tournament features a 32-player singles draw and a 16-team doubles draw. The annual event is held between the BNP Paribas Open in Indian Wells, California and the Miami Open in Florida. For more information about the Irving Tennis Classic at Four Seasons Resort and Club Dallas at Las Colinas, go to the tournament’s website at IrvingTennisClassic.com or follow the tournament on Twitter (@irvingclassic).